How to Delete Your eBay Account in 2026
by Jasmin Mipaña •May 26, 2026
Say bye to eBay the correct way.
Are you sure you want to delete your eBay account? This decision may not come easy for a reseller. Maybe you want to focus on your other preferred apps like Poshmark or Mercari. You might find better fee structures in other platforms. Though it may feel regretful at times, choosing to delete an online reselling account is normal, and shouldn’t take much effort.
Here’s how to delete your eBay account safely and correctly.
Before you start—what to know
- Deleting your account means you won’t be able to buy or sell on eBay. You would not be able to check your listings, and what you sold and bought on the platform.
- Ensure you have no pending transactions of any kind. These include all pending orders, payments, and disputes.
- Check that you have paid all necessary fees and have withdrawn all your earnings.
- Don't forget to unsubscribe to any eBay business tool you have used.
- Want to buy and sell on eBay after deleting your account? You’ll need to create a new account.
How to delete account on eBay

Closing your account on eBay is the correct term. Here’s how you can do it within the app or on a PC.
Via the App
Step 1: Open the eBay app on your phone. Make sure you are logged in.
Step 2: Tap on My eBay at the bottom of the screen.
Step 3: Look for the Help option under Account and tap it. The Help and Contact page will appear.
Step 4. Type “Close account” on the search bar to quickly find the account closing article. Tap the result.
Step 5. Read the article completely, then scroll down and tap the Close account button.
Step 6: Select reason for closing your account.
On the Web
Step 1: Go to eBay.com and log in using your credentials.
Step 2. Once signed in, go to your profile (on the upper left side of the screen) and click the dropdown menu.
Step 3: Choose “Account Settings”.
Step 4: You will be taken to My eBay. On the right side of the screen, you’ll see Account Preferences. You’ll see several options under this section. Click Close account.
Step 5: You’ll be taken to the Closing your account page. Here you can find information about closing your account.
Step 6: After reading the information in the article, scroll down. You will see the Close account button. Click on it.
Step 7: A new page will open with a drop-down menu. Choose the reason for closing the account. Depending on your choice, you may see additional options asking why you’re leaving eBay.
Step 8: Scroll down further to tick the I want to close my eBay account box. Click Submit.
After doing these steps, you will get email notifications from eBay regarding the status of your account. It may take up to 30 days for eBay to close your account.
Frequently asked questions

Q: Can I reactivate my account after closing or deleting it?
A: No. You’ll have to sign up again for eBay.
Q: Can eBay still contact me after I have deleted my account?
A: Yes, for security purposes.
Q: I want to take a break from eBay. What other options do I have?
A: Enable eBay’s Time Away feature. It’s similar to Poshmark’s vacation hold and general vacation mode for other platforms. You can come back later and end Time Away when you’re ready to sell again.
Related articles
In case you decide to continue selling on eBay, these resources might help.
How to Sell on eBay: A Complete Beginner's Guide in 2026